Press release

EUCROF - 17 March 2021

The European CRO Federation (EUCROF), announces the submission for approval by the Data Protection Authorities of the 27 EU Member States and the European Data Protection Board, of its GDPR Code of Conduct for Service Providers in Clinical Research.
CNIL* , the French Data Protection Authority as the competent supervisory authority.

Article 40 of Regulation 2016/679 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 27 April 2016 on the protection of natural persons with regard to the processing of personal data and on the free movement of such data, also known as “GDPR”, “[…] encourages drawing up of code of conducts intended to contribute to the proper implementation of this Regulation, taking account of the specific features of the various processing sectors and the specific needs of micro, small and medium-sized enterprises.”
Clinical research is a field with highly specific features, where a number of dedicated Regulations apply, and the vast majority (over 90%) of Service Providers for Clinical Research, also known as “CROs” – Contract Research Organizations” are micro, small and medium-sized enterprises.
All stakeholders, including the largest CRO organizations that are regional or global players, favor higher harmonization across the European Members States.
The EUCROF Code addresses the need for continuous improvement of quality, security and confidentiality management, to foster transparency and create trust, in a technology driven domain with many new players and growing involvement of patients.
“The EUCROF Code has been designed as a practical tool to enable all CRO organizations comply with GDPR in a harmonized and acknowledged way across all EU Member states”, says Yoanni Th. Matsakis, chairman of the EUCROF Code Task Force, member of the Board & treasurer.
“The introduction in the formal approval process, as defined in the Guidelines 1/2019 on Codes of Conduct and Monitoring Bodies under Regulation 2016/679 of the European Data Protection Board (EDPB) is a great achievement for clinical research in Europe, and the result of a 3 years effort backed by all our members” says Dr. Martine Dehlinger-Kremer, President of EUCROF.
“This initiative has been a formidable opportunity to engage high quality and fruitful collaborations with many stakeholders of clinical research including patient associations, pharmaceutical laboratories and academic networks. The submission for approval is a major milestone and the beginning of a new phase that will result in the establishment of an independent governance body that will ensure the monitoring of the Code and will be accredited by CNIL” says Dr. Stefano Marini, vice-President of EUCROF.

About EUCROF
EUCROF is a not-for-profit legal entity registered in the Netherlands whose objectives are, among others, to contribute to high quality Clinical Research in humans and to promote the excellence of European Clinical Research to the public and the media, as well as on the international stage.
The members of EUCROF are national CRO associations as well as individual CROs established in one or more European countries or outside Europe, as defined in its Bylaws. Today EUCROF has more than 380 affiliated companies, in 25 countries. The list of EUCROF members, as well as EUCROF Bylaws, are public and can be freely downloaded from EUCROF’s website (www.eucrof.eu).
Day to day management and representation of the Federation is performed by an Executive Board (EB) consisting in a group of elected executives (President, Vice-President, Secretary, Treasurer, Executive Board member). Executive Board mandates are for 2 years.
EUCROF’s financial resources come (a) first from the regular annual fees paid by its members, (b) ad hoc complementary budget lines contributed by its members and affiliates on a voluntary basis, to subsidise strategic initiatives and (c) income from the training and educational programmes and events sponsored and organized by EUCROF.
EUCROF develops its activities through working groups consisting in subject-matter experts selected among the affiliated CROs and contributing on a voluntary basis.

About the EUCROF Code International Task Force
The EUCROF Code has been drafted by a dedicated international task force, established under the umbrella of the New Technologies Working Group of EUCROF. This task force has widely consulted the EUCROF affiliates, as well as representatives of other stakeholders: pharmaceutical industry, patient associations, medical devices companies, representatives of ethics committees, representatives of various academic organizations, lawyers specialised in electronic health systems, as well as experts in ISO certifications.
Chairman: Yoanni Th. Matsakis, member of the EUCROF Board, AFCROs – France
Co-chairman: Kate Smirnova, Switzerland
Members: Victoria Watts (UK), Emmanuel Dammigos (ISO consultant, Greece), Christine Fayol-Paget (AFCROs – France), Natasa Spasic (Germany), Tim Chulindra (USA), Thierry Lepoutre (BeCRO – Belgium), Konstantina Pateli (HACRO – Greece), Jessica Pepe (AICRO – Italy), Ignacio Jimenez (Spain), Dora Talvard (Lawyer, France), Josephine Flament (Lawyer, France), Marta Lettieri (AICRO – Italy).

More info at: www.eucrof.eu

Contacts: Please send an email at info@eucrof.eu, at the attention of Yoanni Th. Matsakis & Kate Smirnova and with subject “EUCROF Code”.

 

*Commission Nationale de l’Informatique et des Libertés

Newsletter

Sign up to our newsletter to receive our latest news.

Categories

Communiqué de presse

EUCROF - 17 mars 2021

La Fédération européenne des CROs (EUCROF) annonce la soumission à l’approbation des autorités de protection des données des 27 États membres de l’UE et du Comité européen de protection des données, de son code de conduite RGPD pour les prestataires de services dans la recherche clinique.
La CNIL*, la Commission nationale de l’informatique et des libertés, en tant qu’autorité de contrôle compétente.

L’article 40 du règlement 2016/679 du Parlement européen et du Conseil du 27 avril 2016 relatif à la protection des personnes physiques à l’égard du traitement des données à caractère personnel et à la libre circulation de ces données, également appelé  » RGPD « ,  » […] encourage l’élaboration de codes de conduite destinés à contribuer à la bonne application du présent règlement, en tenant compte des spécificités des différents secteurs de traitement et des besoins particuliers des micro, petites et moyennes entreprises.  »
La recherche clinique est un domaine aux caractéristiques très spécifiques, où un certain nombre de règlements spécifiques s’appliquent, et la grande majorité (plus de 90 %) des prestataires de services pour la recherche clinique, également connus sous le nom de « CRO » – Contract Research Organizations – sont des micro, petites et moyennes entreprises.
Toutes les parties prenantes, y compris les plus grandes organisations de CRO qui sont des acteurs régionaux ou mondiaux, sont favorables à une plus grande harmonisation dans les États membres de l’Union européenne.
Le code EUCROF répond à la nécessité d’une amélioration continue de la gestion de la qualité, de la sécurité et de la confidentialité, afin de favoriser la transparence et de créer la confiance, dans un domaine axé sur la technologie, avec de nombreux nouveaux acteurs et une participation croissante des patients.
 » Le Code EUCROF a été conçu comme un outil pratique pour permettre à toutes les organisations de CRO de se conformer au GDPR d’une manière harmonisée et reconnue dans tous les États membres de l’UE « , déclare Yoanni Th. Matsakis, président de la task force du code EUCROF, membre du conseil d’administration et trésorier.
 » L’introduction dans le processus d’approbation formelle, tel que défini dans les lignes directrices 1/2019 sur les codes de conduite et les organismes de contrôle en vertu du règlement 2016/679 du Conseil européen de la protection des données (EDPB) est une grande réussite pour la recherche clinique en Europe, et le résultat d’un effort de 3 ans soutenu par tous nos membres « , déclare le Dr Martine Dehlinger-Kremer, présidente de l’EUCROF.
 » Cette initiative a été une formidable opportunité d’engager des collaborations fructueuses et de grande qualité avec de nombreux acteurs de la recherche clinique, notamment des associations de patients, des laboratoires pharmaceutiques et des réseaux universitaires. Le dépôt de la demande d’agrément est une étape majeure et le début d’une nouvelle phase qui aboutira à la mise en place d’un organe de gouvernance indépendant qui assurera le suivi du Code et sera accrédité par la CNIL » déclare le Dr. Stefano Marini, vice-président de l’EUCROF.

À propos de l’EUCROF
L’EUCROF est une entité juridique à but non lucratif enregistrée aux Pays-Bas dont les objectifs sont, entre autres, de contribuer à une recherche clinique de haute qualité chez l’homme et de promouvoir l’excellence de la recherche clinique européenne auprès du public et des médias, ainsi que sur la scène internationale.
Les membres de l’EUCROF sont des associations nationales de CRO ainsi que des CRO individuelles établies dans un ou plusieurs pays européens ou en dehors de l’Europe, comme défini dans ses statuts. L’EUCROF compte aujourd’hui plus de 380 sociétés affiliées, réparties dans 25 pays. La liste des membres de l’EUCROF, ainsi que les statuts de l’EUCROF, sont publics et peuvent être téléchargés gratuitement sur le site Internet de l’EUCROF (www.eucrof.eu).
La gestion quotidienne et la représentation de la Fédération sont assurées par un Bureau exécutif (BE) composé d’un groupe d’exécutifs élus (Président, Vice-président, Secrétaire, Trésorier, membre du Bureau exécutif). Les mandats du Bureau exécutif sont de 2 ans.
Les ressources financières de l’EUCROF proviennent (a) d’abord des cotisations annuelles régulières versées par ses membres, (b) de lignes budgétaires complémentaires ad hoc apportées par ses membres et affiliés sur une base volontaire, pour subventionner des initiatives stratégiques et (c) des revenus des programmes et événements de formation et d’éducation parrainés et organisés par l’EUCROF.
L’EUCROF développe ses activités par le biais de groupes de travail composés d’experts en la matière sélectionnés parmi les CROs affiliées et contribuant sur une base volontaire.

À propos de la task force internationale du code EUCROF
Le Code EUCROF a été rédigé par un groupe de travail international spécialisé, établi sous l’égide du groupe de travail sur les nouvelles technologies d’EUCROF. Ce groupe de travail a largement consulté les affiliés de l’EUCROF, ainsi que des représentants d’autres parties prenantes : industrie pharmaceutique, associations de patients, entreprises de dispositifs médicaux, représentants de comités d’éthique, représentants de diverses organisations académiques, avocats spécialisés dans les systèmes de santé électroniques, ainsi que des experts en certifications ISO.
Président : Yoanni Th. Matsakis, membre du conseil d’administration de l’EUCROF, AFCROs – France
Coprésident : Kate Smirnova, Suisse
Membres : Victoria Watts (Royaume-Uni), Emmanuel Dammigos (consultant ISO, Grèce), Christine Fayol-Paget (AFCROs – France), Natasa Spasic (Allemagne), Tim Chulindra (USA), Thierry Lepoutre (BeCRO – Belgique), Konstantina Pateli (HACRO – Grèce), Jessica Pepe (AICRO – Italie), Ignacio Jimenez ( Espagne), Dora Talvard (Avocat, France), Josephine Flament (Avocat, France), Marta Lettieri (AICRO – Italie).

Plus d’informations : www.eucrof.eu

Contacts : Veuillez envoyer un courriel à info@eucrof.eu, à l’attention de Yoanni Th. Matsakis & Kate Smirnova et avec pour objet « Code EUCROF ».

 

*Commission Nationale de l’Informatique et des Libertés

Newsletter

Inscrivez-vous pour recevoir nos dernières actualités.

Catégories