Clinical Research Requires EHR Optimization, Data Interoperability

EHR Intelligence - October 04, 2021

EHR optimization to support data interoperability could improve the value of pragmatic clinical research, according to a study published in JAMIA. Pragmatic clinical trials (PCTs) leverage existing data streams in EHR systems and usually involve multiple clinical sites with wide eligibility criteria to generate real-world evidence.

The Healthcare Systems Research Collaboratory team collected survey responses from 20 PCT projects and found challenges in six main categories:

  • Inadequate collection of patient-reported outcome data
  • Lack of structured data collection
  • Data standardization
  • Resources to support customization of EHRs
  • Difficulties aggregating data across sites
  • Accessing EHR data
  • Dig Deeper
  • Using Health IT Data Standards to Boost Interoperability for Clinical Research
  • Health IT Vendors Partner on EHR-Based Clinical Research Network
  • HL7 Enhances FHIR Accelerator Program to Improve Clinical Research
  • Based on these findings, the researchers created six prerequisites for the successful conduction of PCT trials.

PCTs should be able to:

  • Integrate the collection of patient-reported outcomes data into EHRs
  • Facilitate structured data collection by leveraging standard EHR functions and workflows
  • Support high-quality research through data standards
  • Ensure adequate IT staff for embedded research support
  • Create aggregate type resources for multisite trials
  • Create re-usable and automated queries.
  • The researchers explained that the use of EHR system data takes effort and detracts from other health system priorities. This fact seems “fundamentally unchangeable,” they noted, so the alternative is to change the argument for customizable EHR systems.

“The story needs to not be about promoting research per se but rather about finding and implementing the best and most effective treatments, and continuously learning within and across health systems,” the study authors wrote.

However, building the infrastructure for reusable EHR data collection in support of continual learning is not without costs, they emphasized.

“It is the joint responsibility of funders, researchers, healthcare systems leaders, EHR vendors, and policymakers to work together to accomplish these goals,” the researchers argued.

A recent article by Collaboratory leadership suggests reimbursing healthcare systems for research-related costs and supporting reuseable infrastructure in highly engaged systems could encourage health system participation.

The study authors called for research stakeholders to promote the collection of high-quality data not just for clinical trials, but for other use cases such as population health, ongoing quality improvement, pharmacovigilance, and comparative effectiveness research, as well.

“These programs can be conducted more cheaply and effectively with high-quality data,” they wrote. “Standards-based EHR systems can empower customers to adopt new practices, which can lead to improvement and implementation in health systems.”

However, EHR systems are usually not standardized. Of the 21 trials studied, 16 used different data sources, which creates an ongoing challenge for investigators conducting PCTs.

The study authors suggested that research stakeholders promote standards-based EHR systems to health system leaders as a necessary enabler for integrating real-world evidence-based practices to improve healthcare quality and outcomes.

The researcher team also reported the need for configurable EHR systems. Key stakeholders, such as policymakers, are not fully aware of or incentivized to facilitate the EHR customizations needed for multisite trials as informaticists often control the EHR system in an organization.

EHR optimizations can allow organizations to respond nimbly to public health issues, deliver evidence-based treatments, and address patient-specific care, the authors wrote.

“Driving change for routine PCTs will require meaningful partnerships between healthcare systems, individual clinics, informatics teams, EHR vendors, and researchers, as well as federally driven standards and policies to ensure that EHR systems can support research,” the researchers explained.

Clinical and health services researchers should spearhead efforts to develop and promote standards for data interoperability in support of clinical research, the authors noted.

Newsletter

Sign up to our newsletter to receive our latest news.

Categories

La recherche clinique exige l’optimisation du DSE et l’interopérabilité des données

EHR Intelligence - 4 octobre 2021

L’optimisation du DSE pour favoriser l’interopérabilité des données pourrait améliorer la valeur de la recherche clinique pragmatique, selon une étude publiée dans JAMIA. Les essais cliniques pragmatiques (ECP) tirent parti des flux de données existants dans les systèmes de DSE et impliquent généralement plusieurs sites cliniques avec des critères d’éligibilité larges pour générer des données probantes dans le monde réel.

L’équipe du Healthcare Systems Research Collaboratory a recueilli les réponses à l’enquête de 20 projets PCT et a constaté des difficultés dans six catégories principales :

  • Collecte inadéquate de données sur les résultats rapportés par les patients
  • Manque de collecte de données structurées
  • Normalisation des données
  • Ressources pour soutenir la personnalisation des DSE
  • Difficultés d’agrégation des données entre les sites
  • Accès aux données du DSE
  • Approfondir
  • Utilisation des normes de données des TI de santé pour stimuler l’interopérabilité de la recherche clinique
  • Des fournisseurs de TI de santé s’associent à un réseau de recherche clinique fondé sur le DSE
    HL7 renforce le programme FHIR Accelerator pour améliorer la recherche clinique
    Sur la base de ces résultats, les chercheurs ont créé six conditions préalables à la réussite des essais PCT.

Les ECP doivent être en mesure de :

  • Intégrer la collecte de données sur les résultats rapportés par les patients dans les DSE
  • Faciliter la collecte de données structurées en tirant parti des fonctions et des flux de travail standard des DSE
  • Soutenir une recherche de haute qualité grâce à des normes de données
  • Assurer un personnel informatique adéquat pour le soutien de la recherche intégrée
  • Créer des ressources de type agrégé pour les essais multisites
  • Créer des requêtes réutilisables et automatisées.

Les chercheurs ont expliqué que l’utilisation des données du système de DSE demande des efforts et détourne l’attention d’autres priorités du système de santé. Ce fait semble « fondamentalement immuable », ont-ils noté, de sorte que l’alternative consiste à modifier l’argument en faveur des systèmes de DSE personnalisables.

« L’histoire ne doit pas porter sur la promotion de la recherche en soi, mais plutôt sur la recherche et la mise en œuvre des traitements les meilleurs et les plus efficaces, et sur l’apprentissage continu au sein des systèmes de santé et entre eux« , ont écrit les auteurs de l’étude.

Cependant, la mise en place d’une infrastructure de collecte de données de DSE réutilisables à l’appui de l’apprentissage continu n’est pas sans coût, ont-ils souligné.

« Il incombe aux bailleurs de fonds, aux chercheurs, aux dirigeants des systèmes de santé, aux fournisseurs de DSE et aux décideurs de travailler ensemble pour atteindre ces objectifs », ont-ils affirmé.

Les auteurs de l’étude ont appelé les acteurs de la recherche à promouvoir la collecte de données de haute qualité non seulement pour les essais cliniques, mais aussi pour d’autres cas d’utilisation tels que la santé de la population, l’amélioration continue de la qualité, la pharmacovigilance et la recherche comparative sur l’efficacité.

Les auteurs de l’étude ont suggéré que les acteurs de la recherche fassent la promotion des systèmes de DSE normalisés auprès des dirigeants des systèmes de santé, car il s’agit d’un outil nécessaire à l’intégration de pratiques réelles fondées sur des données probantes afin d’améliorer la qualité et les résultats des soins de santé.

L’équipe de chercheurs a également signalé le besoin de systèmes de DSE configurables. Les intervenants clés, tels que les décideurs, ne sont pas pleinement conscients ou incités à faciliter les personnalisations du DSE nécessaires aux essais multisites, car les informaticiens contrôlent souvent le système de DSE d’une organisation.

Selon les auteurs, l’optimisation du DSE peut permettre aux organisations de réagir rapidement aux problèmes de santé publique, de fournir des traitements fondés sur des données probantes et d’offrir des soins spécifiques aux patients.

« La conduite du changement nécessitera des partenariats significatifs entre les systèmes de santé, les cliniques individuelles, les équipes informatiques, les fournisseurs de DSE et les chercheurs, ainsi que des normes et des politiques fédérales pour garantir que les systèmes de DSE puissent soutenir la recherche », expliquent les chercheurs.

Les chercheurs en clinique et en services de santé devraient être le fer de lance des efforts visant à développer et à promouvoir des normes d’interopérabilité des données à l’appui de la recherche clinique, ont noté les auteurs.

Newsletter

Inscrivez-vous pour recevoir nos dernières actualités.

Catégories